Make A Donation - Keep Our Servers Online
Anonymous,

Please Login or Register
Welcome to THG gaming community, Sign up NOW post new topics, reply to topics, play arcade games and much much more. It takes 1 minute to register
Forum Index  ·  Search  ·  Usergroups  ·  Edit your profile  ·  Members  ·  Login, Check Messages
Arcade  ·  Ranks  ·  Staff  ·  Statistics  ·  Board Rules  ·  Forum FAQ  ·  Log in

Search for at
Triggerhappygamers.com Advanced Search


+  
Latest Site News   Next 2 >>  
 Forum   Author   Replies   Last Post 
Make A Donation / Status News & Announcements binksy 174 Thu Sep 21, 2017 8:20 am
binksy View latest post
New Admin - Derfy News & Announcements DaV 8 Tue May 01, 2018 4:32 pm
Heimerdinger View latest post
   
Recent Topics   Next 8 >>  
 Forum   Author   Replies   Last Post 
Your Gaming comp? Hardware & Software Wuppen 333 Tue Aug 11, 2020 7:16 pm
Communism View latest post
How it feels to play demoman Team Fortress 2 Dkz 5 Thu Sep 10, 2020 10:05 am
aerynsun View latest post
Appetite Ruining Kebab V2 Introductions MightyKebab 5 Sun Aug 23, 2020 11:44 am
aerynsun View latest post
We have a artist on the server Team Fortress 2 olshi 53 Sat Aug 22, 2020 9:49 am
aerynsun View latest post
hi! Introductions Franckie 6 Fri Aug 21, 2020 2:28 pm
Shadow_Samurai View latest post
Unfortunate Spacemen Any Game! Freeflow 6 Thu Jul 30, 2020 12:23 pm
Haytch View latest post
Hi ! Introductions Nat 14 Mon Jul 27, 2020 8:22 pm
Nat View latest post
Ammo theft Team Fortress 2 Tangency 4 Mon Jul 13, 2020 5:39 pm
aerynsun View latest post

MVP not showing with new config
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic    Reply to topic    printer-friendly view    Triggerhappygamers.com Forum Index -> Team Fortress 2
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Ian_Itor
Forum Resident
Forum Resident



Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: Nov 30, 2010
Age: 30
Posts: 340

Reputation: 25.1
votes: 2
germany.png


Status: Offline
Favourite TF2 Class: Soldier
PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 2:58 pm Post subject: No icon MVP not showing with new config Reply with quote

hey guys.
i got sick and tired of my bad fps performance, so i googled this config:

http://fakkelbrigade.eu/chris/configs/

i used the highframe config.. performance increased dramatically, but now the mvp screen at the end of each arena round is not showing any more. i got no custom hud or other modifications, just this config.

does anybody know a fix for this?
---------------------------------------------------------

ideas are bulletproof
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
abbe
THG Member
THG Member



Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: Jul 10, 2010
Age: 35
Posts: 274

Reputation: 51.5
votes: 5
sweden.png


Status: Offline
Favourite TF2 Class: Heavy
PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 6:21 pm Post subject: No icon Re: MVP not showing with new config Reply with quote

Nope, I use one of his configs as well and I do not have that problem.

A few things you can do (while keeping that config, as its quite good):
Start the game once with -autoconfig in the connection properties, after you've done that, remove the string and insert the recommended stuff from the config again.
This will reset a lot of the graphical settings.

Remove the folders: resource, scripts, materials, downloads, DownloadLists, cache.
This will remove lots of temporary files and any changes done to the hud (I know you said you hadn't done anything, but if you have the folders, remove them).

TF2 will recreate all the needed files and any custom files you need from servers will be downloaded again like normal.
Hopefully this will help.
---------------------------------------------------------

Feel free to add me to your Steam friends list.
Or BF3? Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
frozen_
THG Member
THG Member



Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: Aug 28, 2009
Posts: 1129

Reputation: 1.3
votes: 12
libya.png


Status: Offline
Favourite TF2 Class: Demoman
PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 9:28 pm Post subject: No icon Re: MVP not showing with new config Reply with quote

Sorry, I can't help with your problem, but instead I've got a question:
Do these configs just lower your normal graphics settings, or optimize your performance in another way, so I wouldn't really notice a difference to my former graphics? If so, I might try them myself...
---------------------------------------------------------
Io sono ghiacciato.

In the year of our Lord, Twenty Eleven, you cannot look up from beneath the city and see the stars.
But you can look down from above it. And you can jump.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
abbe
THG Member
THG Member



Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: Jul 10, 2010
Age: 35
Posts: 274

Reputation: 51.5
votes: 5
sweden.png


Status: Offline
Favourite TF2 Class: Heavy
PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 9:49 pm Post subject: No icon Re: MVP not showing with new config Reply with quote

You will notice a difference in graphical quality, you can look at his comparison screenshots here: http://www.fakkelbrigade.eu/chris/configs/sshots.htm
If you look at the screenshots you might say that they look too gray, but when youre ingame you most likely wont notice the difference. The performance boost is quite a lot higher I feel.

DX9frames for a Smaller boost, but the graphics will be quite similar to the normal experience.
If you want a big boost go highframes, you will loose quite a lot of details with this one.
Max boost, the maxframes config, but I really cant recommend it. It will look like quake 2 software mode.

I personally run DX9frames which give me enough performance to stay high in pretty much all situations.
---------------------------------------------------------

Feel free to add me to your Steam friends list.
Or BF3? Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
frozen_
THG Member
THG Member



Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: Aug 28, 2009
Posts: 1129

Reputation: 1.3
votes: 12
libya.png


Status: Offline
Favourite TF2 Class: Demoman
PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 11:35 pm Post subject: No icon Re: MVP not showing with new config Reply with quote

I laughed at the maxframes screenshots. Yeah, I don't wanna go that far Razz
I think I'll try DX9frames (or is this the "default" one?) or maybe moreframes...some more fps are never a bad thing  Wink
---------------------------------------------------------
Io sono ghiacciato.

In the year of our Lord, Twenty Eleven, you cannot look up from beneath the city and see the stars.
But you can look down from above it. And you can jump.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Please view and read our Forum & Server Rules
Forum Rules
abbe
THG Member
THG Member



Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: Jul 10, 2010
Age: 35
Posts: 274

Reputation: 51.5
votes: 5
sweden.png


Status: Offline
Favourite TF2 Class: Heavy
PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2011 1:32 am Post subject: No icon Re: MVP not showing with new config Reply with quote

DX9frames isn't the default, but it keeps you somewhat close. You will get less decals, no eyes on the chars and all models will have less details, but most of the time you are too busy shooting stuff so you shouldn't be too bothered. :)

Moreframes is a config made by "m0re", its probably just a comparison.
---------------------------------------------------------

Feel free to add me to your Steam friends list.
Or BF3? Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ian_Itor
Forum Resident
Forum Resident



Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: Nov 30, 2010
Age: 30
Posts: 340

Reputation: 25.1
votes: 2
germany.png


Status: Offline
Favourite TF2 Class: Soldier
PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2011 2:38 pm Post subject: No icon Re: MVP not showing with new config Reply with quote

abbe wrote (View Post):
Nope, I use one of his configs as well and I do not have that problem.

A few things you can do (while keeping that config, as its quite good):
Start the game once with -autoconfig in the connection properties, after you've done that, remove the string and insert the recommended stuff from the config again.
This will reset a lot of the graphical settings.

Remove the folders: resource, scripts, materials, downloads, DownloadLists, cache.
This will remove lots of temporary files and any changes done to the hud (I know you said you hadn't done anything, but if you have the folders, remove them).

TF2 will recreate all the needed files and any custom files you need from servers will be downloaded again like normal.
Hopefully this will help.


wow, thx! but before i delete that stuff: what's in those folders? i got all of them except scripts and there are a lot of files in those folders. i'll just rename them for the time being.

thx for the help, i will try it out later.
---------------------------------------------------------

ideas are bulletproof
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ian_Itor
Forum Resident
Forum Resident



Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: Nov 30, 2010
Age: 30
Posts: 340

Reputation: 25.1
votes: 2
germany.png


Status: Offline
Favourite TF2 Class: Soldier
PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm Post subject: No icon Re: MVP not showing with new config Reply with quote

well, i just tried and it didn't work. i even deleted the autoexec.cfg, started the game normally, then used the dx90frames config. still doesn't work :|

is there a specific order i should try?
---------------------------------------------------------

ideas are bulletproof
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
abbe
THG Member
THG Member



Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: Jul 10, 2010
Age: 35
Posts: 274

Reputation: 51.5
votes: 5
sweden.png


Status: Offline
Favourite TF2 Class: Heavy
PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2011 4:03 pm Post subject: No icon Re: MVP not showing with new config Reply with quote

Both resource and scripts keep files related to the HUD, if you use a custom HUD you extract/create them, if you don't use a custom HUD, I think TF2 creates files and place them there.

Materials, downloads, downloadlist and Cache have files that are downloaded from servers you play on, I can really recommend deleting these folders every few months just to remove old files.

However, there is nothing of importance in any of those catalogues, you can actually remove every file and catalogue and everything will just be re-downloaded/generated next time you start tf2, I wouldn't recommend removing the Maps and CFG folder though as they keep the big files and your personal settings and binds. Smile
---------------------------------------------------------

Feel free to add me to your Steam friends list.
Or BF3? Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ian_Itor
Forum Resident
Forum Resident



Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: Nov 30, 2010
Age: 30
Posts: 340

Reputation: 25.1
votes: 2
germany.png


Status: Offline
Favourite TF2 Class: Soldier
PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2011 6:57 pm Post subject: No icon Re: MVP not showing with new config Reply with quote

still not working Neutral
any other tricks?
---------------------------------------------------------

ideas are bulletproof
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Please view and read our Forum & Server Rules
Forum Rules
frozen_
THG Member
THG Member



Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: Aug 28, 2009
Posts: 1129

Reputation: 1.3
votes: 12
libya.png


Status: Offline
Favourite TF2 Class: Demoman
PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2011 7:05 pm Post subject: No icon Re: MVP not showing with new config Reply with quote

Redownload the game. Really seems like the next logical step. Download it as completely vanilla again, and then apply the config and any other changes (HUDs or the like).
---------------------------------------------------------
Io sono ghiacciato.

In the year of our Lord, Twenty Eleven, you cannot look up from beneath the city and see the stars.
But you can look down from above it. And you can jump.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
abbe
THG Member
THG Member



Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: Jul 10, 2010
Age: 35
Posts: 274

Reputation: 51.5
votes: 5
sweden.png


Status: Offline
Favourite TF2 Class: Heavy
PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2011 7:36 pm Post subject: No icon Re: MVP not showing with new config Reply with quote

That is indeed strange...
I looked over the differences between DX9frames (that I use) and Highframes that you use, the one thing I thought would affect the HUD were this command: r_renderoverlayfragment 0
So I tried it out on an arena server but there were no change in the HUD for me when I changed that setting.

One thing you can try is to reload the hud while ingame, since I reinstalled my computer yesterday I have had to do this every time I join a game, or the hud doesn't show up correctly (not sure what causes it, will try a couple of things later on, see if I can fix it...).
To reload the hud you enter this in the Console: hud_reloadscheme
If this fixes your problem, a quick way of reloading it is to bind it to a button: bind "END" "hud_reloadscheme"

At the moment I cant give you any more advice I'm afraid. Sad
I'm gonna try fixing my own HUDproblem at the moment, it should be doable since I didn't have problems before my reinstall. I will update here with the procedure if I succeed. Smile
---------------------------------------------------------

Feel free to add me to your Steam friends list.
Or BF3? Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
abbe
THG Member
THG Member



Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: Jul 10, 2010
Age: 35
Posts: 274

Reputation: 51.5
votes: 5
sweden.png


Status: Offline
Favourite TF2 Class: Heavy
PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2011 8:29 pm Post subject: No icon Re: MVP not showing with new config Reply with quote

Alright Ian, I want you to try to change one setting in your autoexec, remove the line: mat_antialias "0" completely.

Restart Tf2 once more with the -autoconfig setting on (remember to rename the autoexec file so it is not loaded).
Then start it once more with the other startup lines (remember to rename the file to autoexec again)

Removing that line helped with the two problems I had (couldn't alt-tab correctly, and the HUD issue).

Thanks to beef for the tip, however strange it is, it worked...
---------------------------------------------------------

Feel free to add me to your Steam friends list.
Or BF3? Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ian_Itor
Forum Resident
Forum Resident



Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: Nov 30, 2010
Age: 30
Posts: 340

Reputation: 25.1
votes: 2
germany.png


Status: Offline
Favourite TF2 Class: Soldier
PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2011 9:16 pm Post subject: No icon Re: MVP not showing with new config Reply with quote

it worked!!

thx for your help abbe, you are credit to team :O
---------------------------------------------------------

ideas are bulletproof
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
frozen_
THG Member
THG Member



Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: Aug 28, 2009
Posts: 1129

Reputation: 1.3
votes: 12
libya.png


Status: Offline
Favourite TF2 Class: Demoman
PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2011 9:49 pm Post subject: No icon Re: MVP not showing with new config Reply with quote

Since this is the official config support thread already, I've got another question (Razz):
I tried out the DX9 one, and although the difference in looks is noticeable, the one in performances isn't too much. I'd actually just go back to not using it and having slighty more decent graphics.
How does the autoexec work, though? Does it overwrite the current config, or just get's executed every time the game is started?
What I mean is, to remove it, do I just have to delete the autoexec, or rather replace each settings in the config with the previous ones?
---------------------------------------------------------
Io sono ghiacciato.

In the year of our Lord, Twenty Eleven, you cannot look up from beneath the city and see the stars.
But you can look down from above it. And you can jump.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Please view and read our Forum & Server Rules
Forum Rules
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic  Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    Triggerhappygamers.com Forum Index ->  Team Fortress 2 All times are UTC [DST enabled]
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2


 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum

Related topics
 Topics   Replies   Author   Views   Last Post 
No new posts Hey guys 6 nightstorm 2876 Sun May 18, 2008 6:43 pm
binksy View latest post
No new posts Hey Ho 3 SlyDiggadyDog 2234 Mon Apr 21, 2008 6:08 pm
druid View latest post
No new posts Hey [= 3 Imasage 2597 Wed Apr 02, 2008 3:29 am
binksy View latest post
 




Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2006 phpBB Group
EvoXtreme Theme by SgtLegend ©
Forums ©