Make A Donation - Keep Our Servers Online
Anonymous,

Please Login or Register
Welcome to THG gaming community, Sign up NOW post new topics, reply to topics, play arcade games and much much more. It takes 1 minute to register
Forum Index  ·  Search  ·  Usergroups  ·  Edit your profile  ·  Members  ·  Login, Check Messages
Arcade  ·  Ranks  ·  Staff  ·  Statistics  ·  Board Rules  ·  Forum FAQ  ·  Log in

Search for at
Triggerhappygamers.com Advanced Search


+  
Latest Site News   Next 2 >>  
 Forum   Author   Replies   Last Post 
Make A Donation / Status News & Announcements binksy 174 Thu Sep 21, 2017 7:20 am
binksy View latest post
New Admin - Derfy News & Announcements DaV 8 Tue May 01, 2018 3:32 pm
Heimerdinger View latest post
   
Recent Topics   Next 8 >>  
 Forum   Author   Replies   Last Post 
Sanction appeal Banned? ro_Dr2021 3 Thu Jan 14, 2021 9:51 pm
DaV View latest post
We have a artist on the server Team Fortress 2 olshi 63 Sat Jan 09, 2021 3:16 pm
vuaerom View latest post
Consider reducing the max player cap to 24 for the servers? Servers bigtimerush 15 Tue Jan 05, 2021 4:56 pm
las3r_turk3n View latest post
USB headset mic too quiet in-game? Team Fortress 2 JoePinball 1 Sun Dec 27, 2020 11:23 am
DaV View latest post
Map updates available. Team Fortress 2 Fareseed 49 Thu Dec 10, 2020 6:16 am
zapo View latest post
Hello Introductions Jimi 15 Sun Nov 29, 2020 11:07 am
Nat View latest post
Lots of Maps, Very Few Played - Monthly Rota? Servers Helmsman2 9 Tue Nov 24, 2020 6:03 am
zapo View latest post
Winter is coming ... new winter map propositions Team Fortress 2 zapo 6 Mon Nov 23, 2020 4:44 pm
Gilly View latest post

Ping?!?!
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic    Reply to topic    printer-friendly view    Triggerhappygamers.com Forum Index -> Team Fortress 2
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
BigFacedCat
Newbie
Newbie



Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: May 08, 2009
Posts: 21

Reputation: 4.2
votes: 1
uk.png


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2009 9:43 pm Post subject: No icon Ping?!?! Reply with quote

Hey there.

Recently after returned home from uni for the summer I have found my ping on the #1 server to be really really high  Embarassed.. Usually 160-170 but can get as high as 200's. Now on server #2 i get ping of about 50. D:

I ran speed tests and here is a result of one;



I am not sure why the sending of data between me and #1 are slow, as the vast majority of players have a much lower ping then I.

I am on Orange broadband by the way, if anyone has the same I will be interested Very Happy.

But yeah, the actual gaming experience for me does not seem to be affected but if you see me lagging, please say  Cool

xx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit member's Facebook: 648604782
Beasty
Forum Addict
Forum Addict



Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: Jun 28, 2008
Age: 37
Posts: 106
Location: Derby
Reputation: 22.6
uk.png


Status: Offline
Favourite TF2 Class: Unknown
PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2009 6:13 am Post subject: No icon Re: Ping?!?! Reply with quote

OMG i'm not the only 1 with this problem. As above i have all the exact findings. I too am on orange broadband.
Im sure binksy said he reckons its summat to do with the route it takes to connect to server. Could you phone orange and post what they say here? They were not very helpful to me.

Glad to know im not alone though
---------------------------------------------------------
Pwning the noobs since 1998 Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
druid
Community Admin
Community Admin




Joined: Apr 02, 2008
Posts: 1022

Reputation: 131.2
votes: 11
blank.png


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2009 7:58 am Post subject: No icon Re: Ping?!?! Reply with quote

some routing problem imho
---------------------------------------------------------
Lord Vader finds your lack of competence.. disturbing..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
binksy
Community Admin
Community Admin



Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: Feb 23, 2008
Posts: 3419
Location: UK
Reputation: 205.2
votes: 10
uk.png


Status: Offline
Favourite TF2 Class: Demoman
PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2009 9:02 am Post subject: No icon Re: Ping?!?! Reply with quote

Yup thats isp routing issues. Yah see London network sucks and some hops constantly go tits up causing you a high ping on your route to our server.

What isp are you on m8 ?

Let me show yah how to find out what hop/server it is causing you the high ping follow the below instructions


1) Click on "Start" and goto "Run".

2) Type "cmd" into the run-box and then click "OK".

3) A black terminal window will pop up. Type "tracert 89.145.117.74" into this window and then press <ENTER> on your keyboard.

4) Wait a minute or two for the trace to complete and then copy the entire trace route send it back to me/post it here

This will show you the server route to our server and it will show you what 1 is causing the issue! only way it can be fixed is if that server owner/host fixes it or you get onto your isp to tell them to fix it. They normally fix there self after a few days

Binksy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
BigFacedCat
Newbie
Newbie



Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: May 08, 2009
Posts: 21

Reputation: 4.2
votes: 1
uk.png


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2009 10:01 pm Post subject: No icon Re: Ping?!?! Reply with quote

Yeah I'm on Orange Broadband

I ran tracert and here is the trace route:

Tracing route to 89-145-117-74.as29017.net [89.145.117.74]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

 1     2 ms     1 ms     2 ms  BelkinModem.Belkin [192.168.2.1]
 2    67 ms   122 ms    95 ms  87.237.21.176
 3    61 ms    47 ms    45 ms  10.192.1.73
 4     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 5    65 ms    51 ms    52 ms  194.35.183.85
 6    52 ms    52 ms    95 ms  ae0-65.loncr4.London.opentransit.net [193.251.15
4.65]
 7    52 ms    52 ms    54 ms  tengige0-10-4-0.lontr1.London.opentransit.net [1
93.251.242.217]
 8    53 ms    53 ms    51 ms  xe-10-2-0.lon10.ip4.tinet.net [77.67.67.109]
 9   164 ms     *      167 ms  ge-0-1-0-79.edge-1.thn.lon.uk.as29017.net [213.2
00.77.226]
10   165 ms   180 ms   163 ms  ge-2-3-1.core-2.lhc.lon.uk.as29017.net [89.145.1
25.21]
11   166 ms   165 ms   165 ms  89-145-117-74.as29017.net [89.145.117.74]

Trace complete.

I may do a computer science degree but i hate networks haha.  Evil or Very Mad
See what you can make of that

Thanks for helping!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit member's Facebook: 648604782
Please view and read our Forum & Server Rules
Forum Rules
Beasty
Forum Addict
Forum Addict



Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: Jun 28, 2008
Age: 37
Posts: 106
Location: Derby
Reputation: 22.6
uk.png


Status: Offline
Favourite TF2 Class: Unknown
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 2:39 pm Post subject: No icon Re: Ping?!?! Reply with quote

C:\Users\Mark Toplis>tracert 89.145.117.74

Tracing route to 89-145-117-74.as29017.net [89.145.117.74]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

 1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.1.1
 2     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 3     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 4     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 5     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 6     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 7     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 8     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 9     *        *        *     Request timed out.
10     *        *        *     Request timed out.
11   176 ms   175 ms   174 ms  89-145-117-74.as29017.net [89.145.117.74]
---------------------------------------------------------
Pwning the noobs since 1998 Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
druid
Community Admin
Community Admin




Joined: Apr 02, 2008
Posts: 1022

Reputation: 131.2
votes: 11
blank.png


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 5:53 pm Post subject: No icon Re: Ping?!?! Reply with quote

just as a comparison

C:\Documents and Settings\>tracert 89.145.117.74

Tracing route to 89-145-117-74.as29017.net [89.145.117.74]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

 1    97 ms    99 ms    99 ms  O2WirelessBox.lan [192.168.1.254]
 2     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 3     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 4    19 ms    22 ms    17 ms  ae0.edge-1.sov.lon.uk.as29017.net [195.66.224.14
1]
 5    34 ms    28 ms    16 ms  ge-2-0-2.core-1.lhc.lon.uk.as29017.net [89.145.1
25.17]
 6    31 ms    16 ms    35 ms  89-145-117-74.as29017.net [89.145.117.74]

Trace complete.

still my ping is 25 on average
---------------------------------------------------------
Lord Vader finds your lack of competence.. disturbing..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BPhantom
Newbie
Newbie



Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: Sep 22, 2008
Posts: 22
Location: Malta

malta.png


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 9:16 pm Post subject: No icon Re: Ping?!?! Reply with quote

Durid, those are some weird results.

BigFacedCat's are pretty straighforward.  The first hop (ADSL modem or Cable) has some problems.  Either line quality is down, in which case the modem's error correction kicks in and adds a whole lot of delay, or in the case of Cable the shared cable is overloaded.  Could also be a problem in the ISP's DSLAM.  Just pester them till it goes away.

I'd say Beasty's ISP is paranoid about security and does not send back ICMP packets to confirm that a ping has exceeded it's TTL, so just results for the first and last hop in the route.

Druid's though are baffling...  The variation is probably due to downloads going on at the same time as the trace?  The ping for that first hop though????

For comparison, this is what a trace route should look like (excluding the sucky ping Razz).

Tracing route to 89-145-117-74.as29017.net [89.145.117.74]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

 1    14 ms    30 ms    14 ms  192.168.180.10
 2    14 ms    15 ms    14 ms  217.22.189.129
 3    15 ms    15 ms    14 ms  ge2-1-14-int-bkara1.datastream.com.mt [217.15.97.210]
 4    51 ms    51 ms    51 ms  195.81.215.89
 5    64 ms    66 ms    70 ms  xe-3-1-0-0.fra-006-score-1-re0.interoute.net [212.23.42.137]
 6    64 ms    63 ms    77 ms  ae1-0.ams-koo-score-2-re0.interoute.net [84.233.190.49]
 7    64 ms    64 ms    64 ms  ae0-0.ams-koo-score-1-re0.interoute.net [84.233.190.1]
 8    63 ms    64 ms    99 ms  ae1-0.lon-001-score-1-re0.interoute.net [84.233.190.58]
 9    64 ms    64 ms    63 ms  ae0-0.lon-004-score-1-re0.interoute.net [84.233.218.158]
10    64 ms    64 ms    64 ms  ge-0-1-1.edge-1.sov.lon.uk.as29017.net [84.233.153.30]
11    64 ms    64 ms    64 ms  ge-2-0-2.core-1.lhc.lon.uk.as29017.net [89.145.125.17]
12    64 ms    67 ms    65 ms  89-145-117-74.as29017.net [89.145.117.74]

Trace complete.

Hop 3 is the last router in Malta, hop 4 the first one in Sicily.  And that link is the source of my sucky ping Sad.
Sorry for the long post, but I just *had* to nerd out Smile.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
BigFacedCat
Newbie
Newbie



Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: May 08, 2009
Posts: 21

Reputation: 4.2
votes: 1
uk.png


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 9:48 pm Post subject: No icon Re: Ping?!?! Reply with quote

BPhantom wrote (View Post):

 The first hop (ADSL modem or Cable) has some problems.  


Do you means
BigFacedCat wrote (View Post):

2    67 ms   122 ms    95 ms  87.237.21.176


Well I ran it again and I got

 2    42 ms    58 ms    44 ms  87.237.21.176


I am a complete novice at this type of thing  Confused  ha
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit member's Facebook: 648604782
BPhantom
Newbie
Newbie



Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: Sep 22, 2008
Posts: 22
Location: Malta

malta.png


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 10:01 pm Post subject: No icon Re: Ping?!?! Reply with quote

BigFacedCat wrote (View Post):

Do you means
BigFacedCat wrote (View Post):

2    67 ms   122 ms    95 ms  87.237.21.176


Well I ran it again and I got

 2    42 ms    58 ms    44 ms  87.237.21.176

I am a complete novice at this type of thing  Confused  ha


Yes that's the one I meant.  Looks a bit better now, but it should be about half as much usually.  I've also noticed that there is another jump in ping between your hops 8 & 9, which looks like it's somewhere outside your ISP, so probably just a transient internet thing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Please view and read our Forum & Server Rules
Forum Rules
Topher
Community Admin
Community Admin



Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: Apr 07, 2008
Posts: 896
Location: Durham
Reputation: 155.6
votes: 7
uk.png


Status: Offline
Favourite TF2 Class: Engineer
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 10:48 pm Post subject: No icon Re: Ping?!?! Reply with quote

This is on my rubish internet connection @ my old house ( this is with a 0.5 Mbit/s), I'm about to move and I'll have a better one like i used to have...

Tracing route to 89-145-117-74.as29017.net [89.145.117.74]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

 1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.1.1
 2    26 ms    26 ms    25 ms  91.85.160.1
 3    26 ms    26 ms    26 ms  v111-core3.th.eclipse.net.uk [81.5.191.137]
 4    27 ms    26 ms    26 ms  ae0.edge-1.sov.lon.uk.as29017.net [195.66.224.141]
 5    26 ms    26 ms    26 ms  ge-2-0-2.core-1.lhc.lon.uk.as29017.net [89.145.1 25.17]
 6    26 ms    26 ms    26 ms  89-145-117-74.as29017.net [89.145.117.74]

Trace complete.
---------------------------------------------------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lemming
Forum Addict
Forum Addict




Joined: Dec 20, 2008
Posts: 138
Location: Uk, Nottm
Reputation: 20.1
uk.png


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 11:33 am Post subject: No icon Re: Ping?!?! Reply with quote

Tracing route to 89-145-117-74.as29017.net [89.145.117.74]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

 1    10 ms     8 ms    10 ms  10.225.44.1
 2     9 ms     5 ms    14 ms  nott-cam-1a-v118.network.virginmedia.net [80.4.4
7.189]
 3    10 ms     6 ms     7 ms  nott-t3core-1a-ae2-0.network.virginmedia.net [19
5.182.174.213]
 4     6 ms    11 ms     8 ms  nott-t3core-1b-ge-100-0.network.virginmedia.net
[80.1.79.98]
 5     8 ms    14 ms    11 ms  nth-bb-b-as1-0.network.virginmedia.net [213.105.
174.173]
 6    11 ms    23 ms    16 ms  tele-ic-1-as0-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.
184.2]
 7    11 ms    11 ms    10 ms  ae0.edge-1.sov.lon.uk.as29017.net [195.66.224.14
1]
 8    39 ms    14 ms    12 ms  ge-2-0-2.core-1.lhc.lon.uk.as29017.net [89.145.1
25.17]
 9    10 ms    11 ms    12 ms  89-145-117-74.as29017.net [89.145.117.74]

Trace complete.


Virgin ftw. Usual ping at the new address is 10-20.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Beasty
Forum Addict
Forum Addict



Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: Jun 28, 2008
Age: 37
Posts: 106
Location: Derby
Reputation: 22.6
uk.png


Status: Offline
Favourite TF2 Class: Unknown
PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 3:03 pm Post subject: No icon Re: Ping?!?! Reply with quote

Well i just give up with orange. There a complete set of pooheads Sad
---------------------------------------------------------
Pwning the noobs since 1998 Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
druid
Community Admin
Community Admin




Joined: Apr 02, 2008
Posts: 1022

Reputation: 131.2
votes: 11
blank.png


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 7:06 pm Post subject: No icon Re: Ping?!?! Reply with quote

BPhantom: my tracerts reports are always.. baffling to say the least.
It is true that i've got loads of downloads going on (got 4users total, usually 100gb/month), but its not the problem.
i was with bt and i had always shitty first hop (which is lan) regardless if i was using their homehubs, or netgear dg834g that i have setup as a.. internal hub/switch/wifi access point i think i'd say.
Atm i'm with O2 (on Be-unlimited cables though ;P ) and i dont see any difference whatsoever in tracert/ping results comparing to BT. The only one is amount of hops which tbh got me by suprise, with bt i think i had about 15, not like 6atm
Personally i think my first hop's laggy time comes as a result of combining: hardware firewalls (x2), software firewall, peerguardian's block list and high network usage
interesting thing is those 2 hops that get timeouts, on some tracerts they show up as 10.1.2.XXX, which iirc is another way of setting up private network (rather then usual 192.169.XXX.XXX)
---------------------------------------------------------
Lord Vader finds your lack of competence.. disturbing..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BPhantom
Newbie
Newbie



Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: Sep 22, 2008
Posts: 22
Location: Malta

malta.png


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 7:48 pm Post subject: No icon Re: Ping?!?! Reply with quote

druid wrote (View Post):
Personally i think my first hop's laggy time comes as a result of combining: hardware firewalls (x2), software firewall, peerguardian's block list and high network usage


Yes, that would explain the variation.  Do you really need 3 firewalls?

druid wrote (View Post):
interesting thing is those 2 hops that get timeouts, on some tracerts they show up as 10.1.2.XXX, which iirc is another way of setting up private network (rather then usual 192.169.XXX.XXX)


Yeah, 10.x.x.x is also for private networks, but it does get used by ISPs.  Still, it shouldn't ever show up in a traceroute, other than in the first 1 or 2 hops.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Please view and read our Forum & Server Rules
Forum Rules
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic  Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    Triggerhappygamers.com Forum Index ->  Team Fortress 2 All times are UTC
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2


 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum

Related topics
 Topics   Replies   Author   Views   Last Post 
No new posts Does anyone else like BeatBoxing 5 LB 5041 Thu Jul 17, 2008 1:08 am
Beddoes View latest post
No new posts Battlefield Heroes does this look familar to anyone? 8 Pendaz 6772 Mon Jun 30, 2008 12:08 am
SAS-Wooly View latest post
No new posts Did anyone used to watch rainbow? 5 Pendaz 5345 Wed Jun 25, 2008 6:39 pm
HellBoy View latest post
No new posts Anyone Ever Restore Your Faith? 2 Devoran 4146 Sun Jun 01, 2008 7:19 pm
Devoran View latest post
No new posts Does anyone use wine/cedega/cxgames? Voice trouble. 1 kim 3909 Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:45 pm
tomfin View latest post
 




Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2006 phpBB Group
EvoXtreme Theme by SgtLegend ©
Forums ©